ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel Meeting Minutes

Weiren Chou, Fermilab, and Rohan Dowd, Australian Synchrotron Mail to: chou@fnal.gov, rohan.dowd@synchrotron.org.au

There was an ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel meeting on May 6, 2009 from 18:00 to 20:30 in the Waddington Room, Fairmont Hotel in Vancouver, Canada during PAC09. Thirty-one people attended, including 16 panel members or their representatives, 11 from another ICFA panel, the Advanced and Novel Accelerators Panel, and 4 guests. They are listed in Appendix 1. The meeting agenda is in Appendix 2.

The meeting was chaired jointly by Weiren Chou, head of the Beam Dynamics Panel, and Matsuru Uesaka, head of the Advanced and Novel Accelerators Panel. It took the form of a working dinner, kindly sponsored by the Fermi Research Alliance LLC. It was the first joint meeting between the two ICFA panels and proved to be stimulating, productive and mutually beneficial.

After introductions, each of the three new panel members made a few remarks: Rick Baartman from TRIUMF, Wolfram Fischer from BNL and Mark Palmer from Cornell University.

Marica Biagini, new leader of the circular e+e- collider working group, gave a presentation. She had just finished editing No. 48 of the ICFA Beam Dynamics Newsletter, published in April 2009. This issue was dedicated to e+e- colliders – past, present and future. She received 27 articles and the issue is nearly 300 pages long, indicating the strong worldwide interest in this topic. She planned to update the working group website, which has not been done since 2006.

There was a discussion about the *World Accelerator Catalog Project*, which began several years ago but experienced difficulties in being completed. The goal was to have a web-based accelerator catalog, open to the public and maintained by designated contact persons in each accelerator laboratory. The panel chair received a list of designated contact persons from most laboratories. However, the difficulty came from the lack of technical support from database experts. The attempt was made to seek such support from laboratories but there is no agreement at this time.

Weiren Chou gave a report on panel activities over the past two years. The Panel organized a number of workshops and published six newsletters. It helped the ILC GDE organize the Linear Collider Schools and helped SCOPE promote Open Access publication of HEP journals. A complete archive of the newsletters is available online. A suggestion was made to add the theme section title under the links in the archive.

Matsuru Uesaka gave a report on behalf of the Advanced and Novel Accelerators Panel. There was a Compton Sources Workshop in 2008 in Italy. There will be a Laser and Plasma Accelerator Workshop in 2009 in Greece and a joint workshop with the Beam Dynamics Panel on high brightness electron beams in 2009 in Hawaii. The Advanced and Novel Accelerators Panel will publish its own newsletter. The first issue will be on ERL and edited by R. Hajima.

Yoshiharu Mori gave a report on a successful ADS experiment at KURRI. A proton beam line connecting an FFAG accelerator and a nuclear reactor was built and the neutrons generated by protons hitting a tungsten target in front of the reactor were observed and studied. This was a low power experiment (~1 W) but provides valuable information for future larger ADS experiments.

Chuang Zhang gave a report on the planning of the 2009 International Accelerator School for Linear Colliders. It will take place from September 7-18, 2009 at the Jixian Hotel at Huairou near Beijing, China. The IHEP will host this school. The program includes the ILC, CLIC and the muon collider. There will be 70 students from all over the world. The school received sponsorship from a number of funding agencies and institutions, including several from China: CAS, CCAST and NSFC.

The meeting received two "full" new workshop proposals – *FLS2010* in March 2010 at SLAC, and *Ecloud 2010* in October at Cornell, both of which require ICFA endorsement – and several preliminary mini-workshop proposals: one on beam-beam interactions and another on compact secondary particle sources. These mini-workshops only require panel endorsement but their dates and places are yet to be determined.

The meeting decided the newsletter editors for the next two years. They are:

- No. 50 December 2009 J. Urakawa (KEK)
- No. 51 April 2010 S. Chattopadhyay (Cockcroft)
- No. 52 August 2010 W. Fisher (BNL)
- No. 53 December 2010 R. Baartman (TRIUMF)
- No. 54 April 2011 J. Gao (IHEP)
- No. 55 August 2011 M. Palmer (Cornell)

There was discussion about a page limit for the newsletter because of concerns about printing and mailing costs when the newsletter becomes too long. It was agreed that as long as the quality is maintained, there should not be any page limit. It will be the editor's decision how long a newsletter should be.

The next panel meeting will be during IPAC 2011 in Spain.

Appendix 1: List of Participants

ICFA Beam Dynamics Panel members

Rick Baartman (TRIUMF)

Marica Biagini (LNF-INFN)

Oliver Boine-Frankenheim (GSI, representing Ingo Hofmann)

Weiren Chou (Fermilab)

Wolfram Fischer (BNL)

Miguel Furman (LBNL)

Jie Gao (IHEP)

In Soo Ko (POSTECH)

Yoshiharu Mori (KURRI)

Mark Palmer (Cornell Univ.)

Chris Prior (RAL)

Tor Raubenheimer (SLAC, representing Kwang-Je Kim)

Susan Smith (ASTeC, representing Swapan Chattopadhyay)

Junji Urakawa (KEK)

Rainer Wanzenberg (DESY)

Chuang Zhang (IHEP, representing Jiuqing Wang)

ICFA Advanced and Novel Accelerators Panel members

Ilan Ben-zvi (BNL)

Ryoichi Hajima (JAEA)

Wenhui Huang (Tsinghua Univ., representing Chuanxiang Tang)

Dino Jaroszynski (Strathclyde Univ.)

Wim Leemans (LBNL)

Patric Muggli (USC)

Akira Noda (Kyoto Univ.)

James Rosenzweig (UCLA)

Siegfried Schreiber (DESY)

Mitsuru Uesaka (Tokyo Univ.)

Bas van der Geer (Einphoven, representing Tom Luiten)

Guests

Alex Chao (SLAC)

Rohan Dowd (Australian Synchrotron, Newsletter Regular Correspondent)

Liu Lin (LNLS Brazil, Newsletter Regular Correspondent)

Yuhong Zhang (Jlab, Newsletter Archivist)

Appendix 2: Meeting Agenda

1. Round table introduction All

2. From new panel members R. Baartman

W. Fischer M. Palmer

3. From the leader of the e+e- collider working group M. Biagini

4. FLS 2010

T. Raubenheimer

T. Radocinici

5. Report from the Beam Dynamics Panel W. Chou

6. Newsletter and newsletter editors All

7. Report from the Adv. and Novel Accel. Panel
8. First "accel. + reactor" experiment for ADS
M. Uesaka
Y. Mori

9. 2009 Int. Accel. School for Linear Colliders C. Zhang

10. New workshop and mini-workshop proposals

All

11. Any other business